top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Mykia Wilson

Cover Reveal and Book Release Date!!

What's up everyone! I am so happy to reveal the cover art for my debut book. I would like to give a huge shout out to one of the most dopest artists who just so happened to be my best friend, Shardae Simpson also known as hilarybankz_ on Instagram ( Follow her please). She really captured my vision and I am delighted to share it with you guys. The red border represents blood shed in urban communities, particularly the bloodshed of innocent children. The black woman that is faded into the concrete is a self-portrait illustrated by Shardae. Since the title of my book is "Speak Your Truth Young Queen" I really wanted to include something that represents me on the cover. So what's better than including a young, beautiful, and intelligent black woman on the cover of a book? I make a few references to concrete streets in my book and the cracks in the concrete represents the cracks in the foundation of broken homes and the black community. The font style resembles chalk (another great idea by the artist). The chalk represents the youth. One thing that everyone should know about me is that I love kids and I've always wanted to be a mentor. The book will be released during Black History Month on February 25th! Please stay tuned because a second book is also in the works.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page